WI FFA Member Named U.S. Presidential Scholar

Ezra Linnan of Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin, Sevastopol High School, Sevastopol FFA has been named a U.S. Presidential Scholar — one of the nation’s highest honors for high school students — for their accomplishments in academics, the arts, and career and technical education. Of the 3.7 million students expected to graduate from high school this year, more than 5,700 candidates qualified for the 2024 award and only 161 students received the honor.

Established in 1964 by executive order of President Lyndon B. Johnson, the U.S. Presidential Scholars program was created to recognize the nation’s most distinguished high school graduating seniors. In 2015, the program was expanded to recognize students demonstrating ability and accomplishment in career and technical education.

The 2024 U.S. Presidential Scholars include two students from each state, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico, as well as U.S. families living abroad and 15 chosen at large. There are also 20 scholars in the arts and 20 in career and technical education.

Overseen by the Commission on Presidential Scholars, the program is administered by staff at the U.S. Department of Education. The commission selects honored scholars annually based on their academic success, artistic excellence, essays, school evaluations and transcripts, as well as evidence of community service and leadership.

“We are extremely proud of this accomplishment for these seven FFA members,” said National FFA CEO Scott Stump. “We know that our members are current and future leaders, and this demonstrates the students’ academic excellence while making a positive difference in their schools and communities. These members have exceeded expectations and live out the organization’s mission and vision daily. We know the future is in good hands.”

The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program has honored over 8,200 of the nation’s top-performing students since its inception. The Class of 2024 will be recognized for their outstanding achievement this summer with an online recognition program.